Why cruelty free?

whycrueltyfree

It wasn’t until November 2016 when I decided I would go cruelty free. It started with makeup purchases. When I was in my late teens/early 20’s I loved buying cosmetics but over the years my penchant for that seemed to wane and I concentrated more on skincare. My friend wanted me to attend a makeup class with her so I went along and, to be honest, it wasn’t great, but it got me excited about beauty products again. The tutor mentioned popular products such as The Balm’s ‘Mary Lou Manizer’ and the ‘Beauty Blender’ sponge so I went home and started researching. I’m one of those people who obsessively reads reviews (or watches them on YouTube) before I commit to a purchase.

Anyway, one way or another my research led me to the horrifying facts of animal testing for beauty products. Although animal testing is banned in the UK and EU, there are still big companies that continue to test on animals in sly ways whilst trying to portray they do not. The reason for this is because when a company wants to sell their products in China it legally has to undertake (either themselves or a third party) animal testing to supposedly prove the safety. A lot of companies sneakily try and pass themselves off as being cruelty free by saying something like, “We do not test any of our products on animals except where it is required by law,”  on a website FAQ. The only way a brand can be considered cruelty free is if they do not test on animals at all.

I just think it’s a shame that companies continue to use animal testing when there are ways to prove safety without poisoning and harming animals. There are lots of brands that manage this so why can’t every brand do it? I sort of understand testing from a pharmaceutical point of view (although there is a whole other argument for that) when producing medicines but why should an innocent animal suffer for human vanity? Do you want the blood of an animal on your hands just for a pretty lipstick?

Currently I still have non-cruelty free products in my vanity as it would be wasteful to throw it away but I will make sure not to repurchase from a company that is not cruelty free. I use Logical Harmony and Cruelty Free Kitty as references before buying. You can also look out for the Leaping Bunny logo that certifies a product as being cruelty free. You might think that going cruelty free is expensive but there are actually a lot of reasonable options.

Once I decided my makeup was going to be cruelty free, I also decided that other hygiene items and household products should also be cruelty free. This includes shampoo, conditioner, body wash, deodorant, toothpaste, washing detergent, fabric softener, cleaning sprays, and more. Some things are harder to find than others (like deodorant) but Amazon is a great source and a lot of supermarket own products are cruelty free. It gets even harder when buying groceries. Unilever and P&G have some big name food products and I’m trying to avoid buying these as well.

Obviously I would also want all baby products I use to be cruelty free and I am hoping this blog can persuade others to follow suit. Hopefully my son will grow up loving animals as much as I do. If anyone has a pet, you should also go cruelty free! Can you imagine someone taking your beloved pet and rubbing chemicals into its eyes to test some foundation or a cleaning solution?

Leave a Reply

